The 10th Tong Ill Moo Do 2022 International Tournament was officially opened by the Kenya Tong-IL Moo-Do Federation president Clarence Mwakio officially opened the championship at 5:25 pm on Saturday at the Agah Khan Academy hall in Mombasa.

One hundred and thirty players from 10 countries took part in the annual championship that has faced organisational challenges last year 2022.

This years  2022 10th edition of the Mombasa Open Tong -IL Moo -Do International Martial Arts Championships took place without government funding.

The tournament started with the  Kenyan team popularly known as Jasiri in low spirits but were determined to retain the title that they have won for the last nine editions.

The countries which participated  in the tournament were debutants Dominican Republic, India and Denmark. Others are USA, South Korea, Zambia, Paraguay, Brazil, Japan and hosts Kenya.

The championship will continue Sunday from 2pm with individual players categories.

Director, Culture Diplomacy at Ministry of Foreign and Diaspora Affairs Ambassador Ann Wanjohi graced the occasion said the government will ensure that the event will go on as planned. She said the government will continue to cooperate with the Ministry of Youth and Sports because sports is good, she also appreciated all visiting teams for coming to the country to participate.

Kenya Tong IL-Moo Do Federation president Clarence Mwakio said despite the financial constraints they encountered, the players produced great performance.

He urged the Ministry of Sports to live up to their promise and cater all the bills accrued in the tournament.

In the individual performances, Kenya won medals in all the boys and girls’ division one to four individual categories. In boys’ division one, Rodney Sumba clinched gold, Joseph Clement taking silver with Faris Luvembe and Leon Trevor clinching bronze medals.

In division two, Emmanuel Wafula, Mark Bakari and Preston Mwakio Ingalwa won gold, silver and bronze medals respectively. Division three winners were Clinton Gideon (gold), Giovani Sifuna (silver) and Suleiman Hussein (bronze).

In division four, Jotham Banda took gold, Andre Baraka winning silver and Yusuf Ali clinching bronze medal.

In girls’ division one, the winners were Hope Jepkoech (gold), Kyla Nyambura (silver) and Berryl Sunday (bronze). In division two, Precious Mayar (gold), Hope Christine (silver), Nina Inan and Catherine Mayar (bronze) bagged the medals.

In division three, the winners were Sachiko Isichi (gold), Aiswa Swaleh (silver), Mwanashabani Bakari and Hafswa Akello (bronze). 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Chat on WhatsApp
Hello? 👋
Thank you for visiting our website.

Don't hesitate to reach out if you need any help.

~ Chelsea 🥋